Events
Next Operation
Operation Magistral
4 Days, 5 Hours, 48 Minutes and 32 Seconds
Online Members
Sharp
20 minutes ago

ShuruP4D
49 minutes ago
Online Guests: 38
Recruitment Votes
362

Votes

Help your community and vote every 24 hours!

Contact Calling
Forum » Training Area » Standard Operating Procedures
Joined: 13th May 2013
Rank: Management
Likes 620
13th Mar

The need for contact calling to be quick and accurate should be very apparent for all of us that have played in operations and/ or the public server. confusion can easily happen in a matter of seconds. to eliminate this we have a simple acronym to remember:

ALE
A – ALERT
L – LOCATE
E – EXPLAIN

ALERT
this is the first part here we ALERT the section to what we have seen. this comes in 2 forms of a call:

SIGHTING ‘sighting’ is used when you have spotted a NON THREAT to the section. this comes in many forms.
– enemies that haven’t spotted you and/ or at a far distance from the section
– Civvies
– anything that you may think is important information that the section should know.
CONTACT ‘contact’ is called when you spot a threat or are being fired upon. it is important to remember that ‘contact’ is only called if the enemy poses a danger to your section or other friendlies.

LOCATE
here we give the location of the contact/ sighting. this is broken down into 2 stages

1st stage DIRECTION
to keep this as simple as possible the clock face method is the best and quickest way to give an accurate direction.
12 o clock is the direction that the section is moving
6 o clock the rear of the section
3 o clock is the right flank
9 o clock is the left flank
10 o clock is front left
etc etc
all other methods of direction like ‘contact front’ ‘contact rear’ etc, giving compass bearings is not wrong and can be used but remember that they can cause confusion and be slow to use.

2nd stage is DISTANCE
to again keep is simple and quick we use the 4 different distances:
DANGER CLOSE- within 20m
CLOSE- 20m to 100m
MEDIUM- 100m out to 600m
FAR- 600m plus

EXPLAIN
In the final part of a contact call, we explain what we have seen and give more information that can help locate the contact/ sighting
this again is done in 2 stages

1st stage
‘reference’ here we give a little more info on where the enemy might be, for example:
the enemy might be in cover at a barn so you will say ‘reference barn’
2nd stage is the size/ type of force
here we explain what we have seen and how many an example would be:
‘infantry, 4 men’ (fireteam)
‘infantry, 8 men’ (section/ squad)
‘BRDM, times 1’
With armoured targets, if you don’t know the exact make/ model you can always just call APC, IFV, TANK etc etc

An extra point to remember. the whole of this process is called out over section level radios as it is important information for the whole section to hear.

An example of a full ‘CONTACT’ call is
CONTACT! 11 OCLOCK, MEDIUM DISTANCE, REFERENCE LONE BARN WITH BLUE ROOF, MG NEST
CONTACT! 12 OCLOCK, DANGER CLOSE, REFERENCE RED CAR, I.E.D
CONTACT! 3 OCLOCK, MEDIUM, REFERENCE LARGE COMPOUND, INFANTRY SECTION

Forum » Training Area » Standard Operating Procedures
Please login or register to reply.
Operation Magistral - Saturday 26th May - Sign Up
Howdy Everyone!

Next Operation sign up is now LIVE!

Head HEREto sign up for the next Cold War Operation

The Operations Repo has been updated to suit as well

Sharp
Chat Box
T. Roberts 18th May
Not a shred.
T. Roberts 18th May
Definitely no possibility of doubt in my mind.
T. Roberts 18th May
(Y)
T. Roberts 18th May
100%
T. Roberts 18th May
Absolutely.
T. Roberts 18th May
Yeah totally.
Maff 18th May
What? The guys equipped by the Soviet Union are on our side?
T. Roberts 18th May
We're going to have to hope the ANA step up their game :'D
Maff 18th May
That's it. Remind us all that we will be defending Khassadar from a Russian attack with half the amount of troops! Cheers, Roberts.
T. Roberts 18th May
If anyone wants a preview of what's to come next week (and trust me, you do not want to miss it!) and you don't mind the obvious self plugging - check this out: https://youtu.be/AocIfTUX ... O9YFQKrz0RKHoKNaPP1l­
T. Roberts 17th May
Come on guys, I don't quite fancy holding off an entire Russian army from a Harrier by my self...
Time Zones

London

13:11:28

Paris

14:11:28

Moscow

15:11:28

New York

08:11:28

Central Time

07:11:28

Wellington, NZ

00:11:28