Events
Public Server
Who's Online
Ruben Adams
Online now

Loopy3006
45 minutes ago

Aries
58 minutes ago
Online Guests: 10
Recruitment Votes
662

Votes

Help your community and vote every 24 hours!

Battle Drill SOP
Forum » Training Area » Standard Operating Procedures
Joined: 13th May 2013
Rank: Management
Likes 627
13th Mar 2018

This SOP is a section/squad level procedure that will allow a team to carry out a deliberate attack and also how to respond to an aggressive contact in the AO. It is based on a NATO force doctrine but adapted to suit ARMA

BATTLE DRILL

1. PREPARE FOR BATTLE. Before a fighting element can be combat ready it must prepare, it can be done by following these simple steps.
Protection. If at abase that should be covered by base defence, if in the field following a resupply, ensure you have sentries/over-watch up to keep you covered as this is when your fighting element is most vulnerable.
Ammunition. Ensure your team has enough ammo as well as the correct ammo types, if required due to lack of supplies redistribute your ammo among team evenly.
Equipment. Ensure you have any task-specific equipment such assault ladders, anti-IED etc, Make sure that the people issued with the kit know how to use them.
Radios. If your team have radios, ensure everyone is on the correct frequency and do a radio check to confirm.
Vehicles If you have vehicles ensure they are armed and fuelled and your team know their rider positions.
Orders Issue your orders about the task (this will be covered in a separate SOP)
Advance to contact Move out on your fighting patrol.

2. REACTION TO EFFECTIVE ENEMY FIRE. If your team come under effective fire, that is rounds landing around you or taking casualties. The simple response is RTR.
Return fire (2 rounds in general enemy direction to get their heads down)
Take cover
Return accurate Fire

3. LOCATE THE ENEMY. If the enemy position is not known, it is imperative that you locate it, try to look for tell-tales such as muzzle flash or movement. If This fails you can try to fire at obvious enemy fire positions to get a reaction. If you can still not locate the enemy your only option will be to try and draw the enemy into engaging by having a min of 2 section members quickly burst forward no more then 10 meters into new cover, with the remainder observing for the enemy firing point. If after all this you still cannot locate the enemy the command element will have to make a decision to carry on with the task or withdraw.

4. SUPPRESS THE ENEMY The command element should use a FCO (Fire Control Order) to use all available weapons to suppress the enemy position and thereby win the fire-fight.

5. ATTACK A command element will issue QBO’s (quick battle orders) the section/squad will then assault, fight through, an exploit the enemy position. This phase will be covered in greater detail on the training server and other training notes.

6. RE-GROUP. the command element should rally the team together then quickly carry out the following steps.
Protection Ensure the section/squad is in a defensive position with all-round defence.
Ammunition Count checks the sections/squads ammo levels.
Casualty check Get an Accurate casualty count and types.
Equipment Equipment Check
Searches If required use a minimum of 2 men to search the dead enemy position, one to search while one covers. this must be carried out swiftly.
Sitrep Send a SITREP on the command net, PLT HQ will need this ASAP
Dig In Prepare for a possible enemy counterattack.
Orders Issue orders to the team, regarding the next move/task.

This SOP is designed to be accompanied by live training on the server and serve as a reference point, it is also required reading for anybody in a command role.
Forum » Training Area » Standard Operating Procedures
Please login or register to reply.
Register to our website!

Already have an account? Login »

Welcome to ETR!
Hi there!

Welcome to European Tactical Realism!

Here at ETR you may have already seen or played on our 24/7 Public Server (If not get involved!)

Check out our Discord Server for more instant and upto date information -  HERE

We also do Operations varying across a number of Eras (Modern inc. Conventional & Special Forces & WW2 Era at this moment in time, more to follow!)

If you'd like to get involved head over to the application page located -  HERE

Pay attention to the requirements on this page as failure to adhere to these will result in your application being denied!

Any issues feel free to contact me on here or via Discord

Cheers and I hope to see you soon!

Sharp (Founder of ETR)
Chat Box
Sharp 08:02
It's Op week gents! Lets get it rocking!
Time Zones

London

19:54:12

Paris

20:54:12

Moscow

21:54:12

New York

14:54:12

Central Time

13:54:12

Wellington, NZ

06:54:12